Our Honourary President

Honourary President

Peter W. Cairns

Peter Cairns (Vice-Admiral, CMM, CD, RCN retired) served in the Royal Canadian Navy for 39 years, retiring in 1995. His sea commands included the submarine ONONDAGA, the destroyers FRASER and MARGAREE, the 1st Submarine Squadron and the 5th Destroyer Squadron. In his senior appointments, he served as Assistant Chief of Staff for Operations to the NATO Supreme Allied Commander Atlantic (SACLANT) and as the Commander of Maritime Forces Pacific. His last posting was as Commander of Canada's Navy. In 1997, he was appointed President of the Shipbuilding Association of Canada, a position he still holds. He also serves as President of the Canadian Institute of Marine Engineering and as a member of the Germanischer Lloyd North America Committee, the Advisory Board of the Institute of Ocean Technology and the Defence Industry Advisory Committee. He has recently taken a position on the Board of Directors of the Savannah Ocean Exchange. Admiral Cairns is a Commander in the Order of Military Merit.

As the President of the Shipbuilding Association of Canada, Peter brings valuable inputs to our Institute from a shipbuilding industry with a strong and valued history. The Canadian shipbuilding, ship repair and industrial marine industry is a technology based and specialized skills oriented field that uses the products of numerous Canadian companies from steel mills to advanced information technology. Employment in the industry is characterized by highly specialized and uniquely skilled tradesmen and women. The industry's products include the design, construction repair and outfitting of all manner of vessels with particular focus on ferries, tugs, barges, fishing vessels, naval warships, coast guard vessels (including icebreakers), offshore supply vessels and structures. Founded in 1995, the Shipbuilding Association of Canada exists to promote the interests of the shipbuilding, ship repair and industrial marine industry. The Association is national in scope with members from across Canada. 

Past Presidents

CIMarE has been blessed with a number of marine notables as President including Jack Leitch, Don Challinor, and Guy Veronneau to name just three. These gentlemen, in their way, have provided support for our Institute and leadership in support of National Council and our Branches. The following list contains many, but not all our Past Presidents. More information will follow in due course. 

Name Term Residence
Thomas Ward 1996 - 2001 Vancouver
Guy Verroneau 1993 - 1996  
R.A. Quail 1990 - 1993 Ottawa
J. Allan 1987 - 1990 Ottawa
D.W. Challinor 1983 - 1987 Vancouver
J. Graham Day 1982 - 1983 Calgary
J.D. Leitch 1978 - 1981 Toronto
E.J. Jones 1976 - 1977 Vancouver

Our Corporate Members:


Robert-Allan-Ltd    DSA logo     IMQ logo CouleurRGB

ALLSWATER Logo C   Wartsila Logo